Preparing for Battle.

“Where no oxen are, the crib is clean: but much increase is by the strength of the ox.” Proverbs 14:4
I know this passage is talking about owning an ox, but everytime I read this verse my mind goes to my children. As I struggle daily to have a clean, orderly home, or even a life free of distraction and clutter. I imagine what life could be like without all these little ones in tow. Sure, it probably would make life easier now, but I am reminded in God’s word of the value of my children.
God never has the view of children that our world seems to have. Many view children as an inconvenience in life. They view them as something that gets in the way of what is important.  This passage is one of many that reminds me that yes, life may be easier without them, but they are very valuable.
Children are a blessing from God. They belong to Him, and He has entrusted us to nurture and to care for them, and to train them to love and serve Him. If we take up this responsibility, God can enable us and them to do so much more for Him than we could ever do on our own.
“Two are better than one: because they have a good reward for their labor. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth: for he hath not another to help him up. Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone? And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:9-12
The power of many. As a family you become a band, a team fighting for God in this wicked world. Your family is your quiver and the arrows are your children. They help you in this battle against the devil.
This reminder helps me so much when I feel down and discouraged. When I feel like I’m stuck in the trenches of life. I’m here preparing them for battle, for a very real and serious battle. I’m reminded that I’m not just wasting time at home with meaningless tasks. Our home then becomes a training ground for life.
So mom, when you feel alone surrounded by all the runny noses and dirty hands. Remember that God has a very real plan, and that He is working right in the midst of it all.

Leave a Reply

