Life changes

Well it’s been a while since I have posted anything. Within that time ALOT has changed in our life. The biggest change is that on June 19th we welcomed our 4th child into our home!!! His name is Alexander Scott Athey, he was 7lbs, 11 oz and 21.5 inches. He is our smallest baby, and at a month and a half old, he is currently still wearing newborn clothes!!! (The rest of them only lasted a week or 2 in them!) Here is some pictures of our cutie!

image

image

image

image

image

The next major change is that God has blessed us with a new home!!! We were able to move into a large (1500 square feet) 3 bedroom home!!! This has been all the working of God because with rent prices here, we should not be able to afford to live in this house, but we do!!! I’ll share how it all worked out.
Well, I have a close friend of mine who came to me a few months ago and shared with me in confidence that her family was thinking about moving to a town close by so she could be closer to a pregnancy center that she was volunteering at. The leader of the center happened to own a small 3 bedroom home and was looking for someone to rent it to. So my friend decided to move there.
She told me this about 2 months before she moved. About a month before she moved I suddenly had a thought pop in my head. (I honestly believe it was the Lord speaking to my heart.) The house she was moving from was a much larger home than the one we lived in. Her family had began renting it before the storms hit a few years back, and before housing costs shot up. I knew that the current amount they paid was in our price range. (Only 25$ more than we were paying for our small 2 bedroom house) So I decided to call my friend and ask what she thought of us seeing if he would rent to us. She recommended it to us, and gave me the landlords number.
I knew it was a long shot to ask for him to keep the price the same with the current housing and insurance costs, but I decided it was worth a try. He told me that his plan was to do some work on the house (new carpets and stuff) and raise the rent by $200. (Which was way more than we could afford.) I told him we could not afford to pay more than they were currently paying, but that we were honest tenents with great rent history and would never miss our payment unless there was an emergency. (At this point we have never been late or missed in 5 year, which I thank the Lord for.) He told me to give him a few weeks to see the house and think about it. He said that if he felt he could rent it without doing alot of work up front then he would consider it. So I agreed to call back in a few weeks and we would decide at that point.
When I called him back, he agreed to rent it to us for our price and we set about moving!
This task amped up my decluttering project. See the major downfall of this place was that it had very little storage space. We had been used to having a garage to pile all of our junk into that we weren’t using, but at this new place there was no garage or shed. So we set about clearing it all out. I gave away (and sold some) everything we didn’t need or love.
I am happy to say that this move has been the smoothest and easiest move I ever experienced. Knowing I was due to have a baby a month after our move date, I set about making it as organized as possible so the unpacking process went quick and smooth. I searched pinterest for ideas and set about labeling and color coding everything!!!
I did however run out of time and had about 6-7 random boxes or stuff, but it still helped a ton because I was almost completely unpacked and set up by the end of the first week. (All we had left was pictures and stuff to hang)

image

image

This is my daughters room.

image

image

image

This is the boys room.

image

image

This is our room

image

Our cozy livingroom area (we divided the livingroom bc it was huge!!!)

image

This is the other side.

image

Kids bathroom

image

Kitchen (excuse the mess)

image

Diningroom

image

Laundry room

image

image

And our bathroom 🙂

We love our new home!!! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

