Let’s Play Ball!!!

This past week has been a rough week for the Athey family. My husband enrolled to take Sign Language Interpreting classes at a local College near our home. This past week was his first week. As some of my readers may know, my husband and I decided very early on in our relationship that when we had children, that I would stay home with them. This decision has made it a little challenging for us financially, and my husband has had to take on extra work to make it all work out. His current job is a little demanding on time, and he works about 45-50 hours a week 6 days out of the week. The decision to start school on top of that unfortunately did not come with opportunity to cut back. So now he is working as well as taking classes 2 nights a week. This made for a long week without daddy, and our children were probably affected the most.
The intense week without daddy ended on Friday evening. When Timothy arrived home that night, he was excitedly greeted at the door by our 3 year old daughter, but our son, who is two was the opposite. He completely withdrew himself from daddy and hid behind the dining room table. When I finally brought him in and placed him in daddy’s lap he began to cry. I could see anger and hurt in his little eyes. I tried first to walk away and see if he would warm up to him, but that only made the situation worse.
After I picked him up and held him a while, he did finally settle down and we ate supper.
After supper we went through our nightly routine that we try to often keep. We went into the living room, pulled the afghan off the back of the couch, unfolded it and layed it on the floor. Then our whole family sat down on the blanket together to do what we like to call “Family Devo Time” or “Family Bible Time.”
Usually this process consists of, first off, singing a few songs. This particular night it was “Deep and Wide”, “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy down in my heart” and our family favorite of “The B.I.B.L.E!” Then we pray, and daddy teaches us some truths out of Gods word. We end again with a few more songs, one being our family song of “God is so Good.”
After we closed in prayer, we put our Bible and blanket away and took out a little red ball. Then for about 30-45 minutes we all just sat around the living room throwing this ball around and enjoying each other’s company. Then we ended the night with our usual goodnight kisses and prayer.
I didn’t think much of this night, as an adult it felt like we really didn’t do much. I learned this morning that to our kids it meant the world.
As I was getting ready this morning, my 3 year old daughter came in the room and reminded me of the evening. She said this to me.
“So mom, after supper we got out the blanket, and we had “family Devo time!” And then we played ball! It was beautiful!”
These words, coming for my little daughters mouth, hit me to the heart! Our simple act of time with them meant everything! It meant so much, that she described it as “Beautiful!”
Wow!
Are you giving your kids “beautiful” moments of your time? They need you!
Another note: after that evening, our son began to cling to daddy, and has been attached to him the entire weekend. He is all he wants 🙂

One thought on “Let’s Play Ball!!!

Leave a Reply

