There is Power in your Words

image“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. And grieve not the Holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption. Let all bitterness and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: And be ye kind one to another, tender hearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” Ephesians 4:29-32
A few months ago I posted a post entitled, “Mommy I’m Listening.” Where I began to share a battle that I have been facing regarding my daughter. The truth is, this battle is not really with my daughter, but rather a spiritual battle within my heart.
For many years, since my children were born I have developed a very bad habit of tearing them down. It isn’t something I do directly to them, but something I do with my adult friends. I excuse it off as “seeking advice” or “sharing struggles”. Truthfully I am tearing them down and pointing out all their faults.
I began doing this long before I thought my babies could even understand what I was saying, but then I never really break the habit. The way I speak of my mothering experience makes it sound so drudging and so weighty. My words are filled with discontentment and distain.
Yesterday I felt my heart cry out to God. “Help me Lord!” It was an involuntary cry, one which stems from a very grieved spirit within me. I’m not sure if you have ever felt this type of cry before, it’s one of those with which you feel when Gods word pierces your heart due to a sinful struggle.
When this happened I felt the urge to make a commitment to God. Something like “I will never speak negatively about my children again unless I’m truthfully asking advice.” Somehow, I think if I commit it to God then I won’t struggle anymore, but truthfully I know it won’t be that easy.
How do I really give this issue to God? So often as Christians we lay something down at the feet of Christ, only to pick it back up again sometime in the future. This though, I know will have many harmful lasting effects in the lives and hearts of my children. I don’t want my children feeling inadequate or discouraged bc I’m unhappy with them. I want to be an encouraging mom, one who tells them, “it’s ok, don’t get discouraged, God will help you through this and so will I.”
It doesn’t matter if your child is only a tiny baby or a 15 year old. Our words can and do have a lasting effect on their life. Your words have power to make or break their spirit and their relationship with Christ. My prayer is that these verses become real in my life. Please pray for me about this issue. Thank you all for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

