Thirsty for God

“Oh God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;” psalm 63:1
This used to be my favorite passage of scripture. I remember the sweet years of waking up early everyday, all through college and reflecting on the meaning of this verse. Oh how I truly longed to be close to God, to have His presence in my life. I remember even in my high school years before I ever attended Bible College, truly studying the Word of God. I did word studies, and read commentaries and devotionals. I even journaled about what God was speaking to me about. I did this for me, for my own walk with God, not for a project or a grade. Nobody even knew I did this. Oh, how I truly longed to be close to God.
Yet, somewhere between Bible College and Marriage and Motherhood, I somehow lost this burning desire. I say this with a very heavy heart. I do still love The Lord and I really want to have that burning intense fire to know Him again. I don’t understand how the physical exhaustion of life can drain you of the emotional longing to be close to God, but it does.
We all live very busy lives, filled with agendas and lists of tasks rarely checked off. Lets add our relationship with God to the top of our list. Help me Lord. Like the man of God once said. Renew to me the Joy of my Salvation. Oh how I long to love you like I once did.

Leave a Reply

