Children are God’s little blessings!

So we recently found out that we are expecting again! This will put an 18 month gap between Josiah and the new baby 🙂 Many people have started to express that they are concerned about us. To be honest I even struggle with it myself at first, but God has taught me some amazing truths through all of this! He has taught me that children are blessings that He gives to His people. They are not a burden like many people have come to believe and practice.
Sure, many people would not come right our and admit that their children are a burden, but their actions speak the truth. Even Christian counselors are advising that couples should wait at least a year to have children, and that one or two children is sufficient. When families do have children they are whisking them off to daycare to raise them. They say they cannot support them unless both parents are working, but the truth is, that they want a comfortable life where they don’t have to rely on God or wonder how He will provide.
I am not entirely naive, I do realize that we live in a very difficult and expensive economy, in fact we will now have 3 children on a very small one income budget. Yes, at times it is hard, but not impossible. Many families have fancy cars, phones, and tvs with all the expensive packages but say they cannot afford to have another child. Is your child’s life really worth the value of those things? No, really, that is what you are saying when you say they do not have the right to be born.
Another thing I learned. I learned that God is the opener and closer of the womb. We were never given responsibility in the Bible to choose who should be born and who should not. The Bible says that when a man and a women get married they become one flesh. Our children are a picture of that. They are a real life example of one flesh created out of the perfect combination of the two of them. Wow! This thought astounded me! God’s work is just amazing! When I look at my daughter I see her daddy’s eyes, but her mommy’s smile. She is an amazing creation and picture of me and my husband combined in one! My son also! He has daddy’s eyes also but mommy’s hair and skin color and mommy’s dimples!
When I think of my daughter, I remember the many Godly people who encouraged us to wait. They unfortunately have been swayed by the worlds beliefs as well, but had we listened, my sweet little girl would not be here…
So now I realize that God gives children for a reason. He loves them and loves us. He entrusts us with these precious lives to raise them to love and serve Him! I pray I do not let Him down. I also praise Him for these wonderful blessings He has given us!

“Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep. Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord : and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.”(Psalms 127:1-5 KJV)

20130504-211349.jpg

2 thoughts on “Children are God’s little blessings!

  1. This was so encouraging for me to read. My husband and I are expecting our second. Our marriage counselors have cautioned us about having more children while my husband is in school. God has been teaching me that He is the one who creates life. He is the one who chooses when to create. Giving God control can be scary. But I feel strongly that God has given me the desire to have kids and leave the timing up to Him.

    1. I’m really glad this was a help to you. This is something God has been working on my heart for many years now. But the bible says happy is the man that has his quiver full of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

