My birth

My mother wanted badly to get out of the strict military home she grew up in, and chose to marry my father who was also in the military. She says now that she was “young and stupid.” So of course her new life was really not as glamorous as she thought it would be.
My father, early on, was shipped over to Germany to serve. My mother who was expecting again went with him. While overseas she gave birth to my older brother Juan, and not very long after found out she was pregnant again with me.
Around this time she started to realize that her new life really wasn’t what she had hoped it would be, so she decided she would leave my father and return to the states. So on a whim at 6 months pregnant with a baby and a toddler, she boarded a plane and headed back to the United States.
Upon arrival, she soon began having complications with her pregnancy and became bedridden. She made it just 2 more months before the doctors said she would need to deliver before she lost her baby and her life.
I was born 3 weeks early weighing 6lbs 9 oz and 19 inches long, and my mother says, I was born dead. I had the umbilical cord wrapped and tied in 3 knots around my neck, but praise The Lord, the doctors were able to revive me. To this day my mother calls me her “miracle child.”

Leave a Reply

